The Studio – from (very) humble beginnings…

Standard

Well, it looks like we are going to do it – build me a studio and office in the space in the back of the “barn”.  When we first looked at our house six years ago, I claimed this room as mine. I moved all of my craft stuff into it and started to organize….beads, paper, tools, ribbon, more paper, books, wire, pens and even more paper (I am a paper-a-holic, or maybe just a craft-o-holic). One evening, it was pouring rain and I when I walked about three feet into my craft space and a big fat drop hit me square in the forehead and rolled down my face. THE ROOF LEAKS! utter panic, I had hundreds, if not thousands of precious sheets of paper, photos, stickers….all got packed into totes, boxes, and bags and quickly moved into our second bedroom. I purchased plastic totes and boxed up much of the rest of it to keep it dry.  And that is where it has sat since then.  I have been out there to rummage, sort, clean, but mostly it has stayed there, waiting for me.

My husband Jack has been trying to get the barn roof sealed since the summer after that fateful day, I don’t know how many coats of snow coat are on it, but if anything ever fell from the sky onto it, it would probably bounce off like a superball!  But – it has been dry for over a year now, so we have started clearing the space and designing my studio. I am SO excited. I have wanted a dedicated space for all of my accumulated treasures for so long.

It is two rooms which will be separated by an archway, both rooms are approximately 13′ square, all total they measure 26’6″ long  x 13’6″ wide.  Right now they are covered in nasty brown paneling and spider webs.   I found some online design software and I was able to create my dream space, but we are simply going to insulate and put in drywall to start. Eventually, I would like build a proper studio space in the front room, with counters with cupboards on two walls, a huge work table in the center of the room and a exhaust hood in one corner.  The back room would be a combination on storage, an office, and a sitting area.  Jack works at an HVAC supplier, so he finds things and brings them home.  We have a large gas fireplace and mantle that he salvaged and will install in that room.  He also purchased a mini heat pump for me for Christmas. He tells me it is the best thing out there for heating and cooling small spaces, and it will keep the humidity constant, which is important for all that paper!

One response »

  1. Hi! I saw you were following me on Twitter and I saw your tweet about this post and had to check it out. I moved my studio out of my home and into it’s own independent space in March of last year. I am really excited for you. Best of luck with everything.

    Theresa

Leave a comment